Insights: Events The Future of the Assignor Estoppel Doctrine in Patent Validity Challenges: Minerva Surgical, Inc. v. Hologic, Inc.

Licensing Executives Society (LES) Webinar hosted by the LES Houston Chapter

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

The doctrine of assignor estoppel prevents a party who assigned a patent to another from later challenging the validity of the assigned patent in district court. Currently, assignor estoppel remains a defense to invalidity in district court, yet, assignor estoppel does not preclude an alleged infringer from challenging the validity of asserted patents in an inter partes review (IPR) proceeding. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) rules effectively grant assignors a pathway to skirt the assignor estoppel doctrine by challenging patent validity in IPR proceedings rather than in district court. Join us as Kimberlynn Davis presents on the latest developments in Minerva Surgical, Inc. v. Hologic, Inc. currently before the Supreme Court, the outcome of which should resolve the forum-based discrepancies that exist in applying the assignor estoppel doctrine.

Event Details

Tuesday, June 15, 2021


Webinar (Live and Recorded)

1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Eastern
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Central
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Mountain
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Pacific

CLE Credit

Application for one hour of Texas CLE credit pending.

Upcoming Events

Latest Thinking

View more Insights
Insights Center
close
Loading...
If you would like to receive related insights and information from Kilpatrick Townsend, please provide your contact details by filling out the form and clicking “Agree.” If you would like to access the PDF only, please click “Download Only.”