Kilpatrick Townsend

Insights: News

Kilpatrick Townsend Receives Top Rankings in 2020 Legal 500 US

ATLANTA (June 23) – Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton announced today that the firm has received top rankings in the 2020 Legal 500 US, an annual, comprehensive, research-based analysis of law firms in over 150 jurisdictions around the world. 

Kilpatrick Townsend was recognized in seven different practice areas, including three practice areas recognized with a Tier 1 ranking, the top ranking awarded by Legal 500. The publication also singled out 46 Kilpatrick Townsend attorneys for their accomplishments in their practice areas. The firm was recognized in the following areas:

Construction – Tier 1
The firm’s construction practice was praised for its “ability to create a team atmosphere with the client” and “make them an integral part of the process.” Additionally, clients noted, “…they have a very strong ability to create a productive and inspiring working atmosphere, where the essentials of the case can be extracted and utilized effectively. Effective communication with the client is key for this team, effectively allowing room for the team to respond with flexibility as the case develops and/or alters its character. The sum exceeds its individual parts. This team is truly loyal to its client[s]!”

Recognized Construction attorneys include:

  Brian Corgan (Hall of Fame)
  Randall Hafer (Hall of Fame)
  Lee Mann
  Robbie Poplin (Next Generation Partner)
  Keith Richardson
  Daniel Swaja (Next Generation Partner)

Trademarks: Litigation – Tier 1
Legal 500 described Kilpatrick Townsend’s trademark litigation team as “the legal counsel of choice for a number of household names.” Clients noted that the team “give[s] smart and practical advice, tailoring the relationship they have with each company depending on their individual cultures. They are very responsive and are always there 24/7.”

Recognized Trademarks: Litigation attorneys include:

•  Bill Brewster (Hall of Fame)
  Charlie Henn (Next Generation Partner)
  David Mayberry
  Larry McFarland
  Lisa Pearson
  Judy Powell
  Dennis Wilson

Trademarks: Non-Contentious (including Prosecution, Portfolio Management, and Licensing) – Tier 1
The firm’s trademarks: non-contentious team “has a strong on-the-ground presence in several commercial centers nationwide.” Additionally, Legal 500 noted that “another distinguishing feature of the firm is its Beijing-based Chinese trademark agency, which assists U.S. and European clients with strategic trademark matters in China.”

Recognized Trademarks: Non-Contentious attorneys include:

  Bill Brewster
  Alicia Jones (Next Generation Partner)
  Marc Lieberstein
  Anthony Malutta (Leading Lawyer)
  David Mayberry

Copyright
Kilpatrick Townsend’s copyright practice was described by clients as, “…great at trying to find elegant solutions to complicated (and often not-previously-litigated) problems. [They are] willing to think outside the box and provide practical advice that can be executed on with internal business units.” Additionally, clients stated, “the team has a good combination of litigators, counselors, and academics and this combination is very effective when thinking through various copyright issues.”

Recognized Copyright attorneys include:

  Joseph Beck (Hall of Fame)
  Joe Petersen
  James Trigg
  Dennis Wilson

M&A: Middle-Market (Sub-$500m)
The firm’s M&A practice was noted for its ability to handle large-scale national and international transactions, both in the middle- and upper-markets, and for its multibillion-dollar deals for well-known corporate clients.

Recognized M&A: Middle-Market (Sub-$500m) attorneys include:

  Lou Barbieri III (Next Generation Partner)
  Ben Barkley
  Gary Bronstein
  Joel Cartee
  Rich Cicchillo, Jr. (Hall of Fame)
  David Eaton
  Christina Gattuso
  Thomas Kesler

Outsourcing
Kilpatrick Townsend’s outsourcing practice was recognized for its strong presence in the telecoms sector, with experience assisting information management providers, financial institutions, and health insurance companies on outsourcing matters.

Recognized Outsourcing attorneys include:

  Megan Demicco
•  Josh Ganz
  Lance McCord
  Jim Steinberg

Patents: Prosecution (including Re-Examination and Post-Grant Proceedings)
The firm’s patent prosecution practice was noted for its “wide and deep expert bench,” with clients emphasizing that the “team is very well managed, and includes many experienced and capable drafting/prosecution attorneys. They employ a supervisor/drafter approach when less experienced attorneys are working on matters.” Additionally, clients were impressed by the team stating, “the team we use is 100% female, all well-credentialed PhDs, all customer-service oriented. I love each of those characteristics.”

Recognized Patents: Prosecution attorneys include:

  Nena Bains
  Gene Bernard
  Rich Christiansen
  Jim Cleary
  Tom Franklin
  Kate Gaudry
  Wab Kadaba
  Nicki Kennedy
  Justin Krieger
  Craig Largent
  Daniel McCormick
  Tina McKeon
  John Pratt (Hall of Fame)
  Andrew Serafini
  Clark Weight

***

Related People

Brian G. Corgan

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bcorgan@kilpatricktownsend.com

Randall F. Hafer

Partner

Atlanta, GA

rhafer@kilpatricktownsend.com

R. Lee Mann, III

Partner

Atlanta, GA

lmann@kilpatricktownsend.com

William R. Poplin, Jr.

Partner

Atlanta, GA

rpoplin@kilpatricktownsend.com

Keith L. Richardson

Partner

Atlanta, GA

krichardson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Daniel B. Swaja

Partner

Atlanta, GA

dswaja@kilpatricktownsend.com

William H. Brewster

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bbrewster@kilpatricktownsend.com

J. David Mayberry

Partner

New York, NY

dmayberry@kilpatricktownsend.com

Larry W. McFarland

Partner

Los Angeles, CA

lmcfarland@kilpatricktownsend.com

Lisa Pearson

Partner

New York, NY

lpearson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Judith A. Powell

Partner

Atlanta, GA

jpowell@kilpatricktownsend.com

Dennis L. Wilson

Partner

Los Angeles, CA

dwilson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Alicia Grahn Jones

Partner

Atlanta, GA

aljones@kilpatricktownsend.com

Marc A. Lieberstein

Partner

New York, NY

mlieberstein@kilpatricktownsend.com

Anthony J. Malutta

Partner

San Francisco, CA

amalutta@kilpatricktownsend.com

Joseph M. Beck

Retired

Atlanta, GA

jbeck@kilpatricktownsend.com

Joseph Petersen

Partner

Menlo Park, CA

jpetersen@kilpatricktownsend.com

James A. Trigg

Partner

Atlanta, GA

jtrigg@kilpatricktownsend.com

Louis Barbieri, III

Partner

Atlanta, GA

lbarbieri@kilpatricktownsend.com

W. Benjamin Barkley

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bbarkley@kilpatricktownsend.com

Gary R. Bronstein

Partner

Washington, DC

gbronstein@kilpatricktownsend.com

S. Joel Cartee

Partner

Atlanta, GA

jcartee@kilpatricktownsend.com

Richard Cicchillo, Jr.

Partner

Atlanta, GA

rcicchillo@kilpatricktownsend.com

David M. Eaton

Partner

Menlo Park, CA

deaton@kilpatricktownsend.com

Christina M. Gattuso

Partner

Washington, DC

cgattuso@kilpatricktownsend.com

Thomas O. Kesler

Partner

Atlanta, GA

tkesler@kilpatricktownsend.com

Megan S. Demicco

Senior Associate

Dallas, TX

mdemicco@kilpatricktownsend.com

Joshua S. Ganz

Partner

Atlanta, GA

jganz@kilpatricktownsend.com

M. Lance McCord

Counsel

Atlanta, GA

lmccord@kilpatricktownsend.com

James Steinberg

Partner

Dallas, TX

jsteinberg@kilpatricktownsend.com

Nena Bains

Partner

Menlo Park, CA

nbains@kilpatricktownsend.com

Eugene J. Bernard, Ph.D.

Partner

Denver, CO

gbernard@kilpatricktownsend.com

Richard B. Christiansen

Partner

San Diego, CA

rchristiansen@kilpatricktownsend.com

James P. Cleary

Partner

San Diego, CA

jcleary@kilpatricktownsend.com

Thomas D. Franklin

Partner

Denver, CO

tfranklin@kilpatricktownsend.com

Kate Gaudry

Partner

Washington, DC

kgaudry@kilpatricktownsend.com

Wab Kadaba

Partner

Atlanta, GA

wkadaba@kilpatricktownsend.com

Nicoletta M. Kennedy

Partner

Denver, CO

nkennedy@kilpatricktownsend.com

Justin L. Krieger

Partner

Denver, CO

jkrieger@kilpatricktownsend.com

Craig C. Largent, Ph.D.

Partner

Menlo Park, CA

clargent@kilpatricktownsend.com

Daniel K. McCormick

Partner

Denver, CO

dmccormick@kilpatricktownsend.com

Tina Williams McKeon, Ph.D.

Partner

Atlanta, GA

tmckeon@kilpatricktownsend.com

John S. Pratt

Retired

Atlanta, GA

jpratt@kilpatricktownsend.com

Andrew T. Serafini, Ph.D.

Partner

Seattle, WA

atserafini@kilpatricktownsend.com

Clark F. Weight

Partner

Denver, CO

cweight@kilpatricktownsend.com