Kilpatrick Townsend

Insights: News

Kilpatrick Townsend Achieves Top-Tier Recognition from Chambers USA 2020

Number of Band 1 Practice Areas Increase 

ATLANTA (April 24) – Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton announced today that the firm once again earned outstanding recognition in the 2020 edition of Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business. In total, Kilpatrick Townsend is represented in 17 categories, earning rankings in every state where it has an office (as well as the District of Columbia), and has attorneys claiming 52 spots on the prestigious list. The firm’s Corporate, Intellectual Property, and Litigation Departments continued their long tradition of exceptional rankings in numerous areas.

Kilpatrick Townsend is now ranked Band 1 for Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets (USA-Nationwide) making it one of only two firms in the country ranked at the highest level in the top three major trademark rankings: Chambers USA 2020, World Trademark Review 1000 2020, and Managing IP Stars 2020. Also, two new overall practice rankings for the firm in the 2020 edition include Intellectual Property (USA-Nationwide) and Intellectual Property (California).

Kilpatrick Townsend is tied for the most attorneys recognized for Native American Law (USA-Nationwide). The firm is the only Band 1 firm for Intellectual Property in Georgia and Colorado, and has the only Band 1 attorneys recognized for Intellectual Property in North Carolina. Kilpatrick Townsend also has the most attorneys recognized for Intellectual Property in Georgia and North Carolina and is tied for the most in Colorado. The firm’s Construction Practice continues to be a rankings powerhouse with national and state recognition, including having the only construction attorney in Georgia named a Star Individual. 

In addition to the Chambers USA 2020 rankings, Kilpatrick Townsend was one of only eight firms recently ranked in Global Chambers 2020 for Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright and Trade Secrets (USA) and the firm’s Stockholm office received impressive rankings for its Real Estate Practice in Chambers Europe 2020.

Below are additional highlights from this year’s Chambers USA. For more, please click here

Kilpatrick Townsend attorneys earned 11 Band 1 and/or Star Individual rankings in their respective practice areas:

  Todd Meyers: Bankruptcy/Restructuring (Georgia)
  Brian Corgan: Construction
o  Star Individual (Georgia)
o  Band 1 (USA-Nationwide)
  Randall F. Hafer: Construction (Georgia)
  Alan McConnell: Environment (North Carolina)
  Darin J. Gibby: Intellectual Property (Colorado)
  David E. Sipiora: Intellectual Property (Colorado)
  William H. Brewster: Intellectual Property (Georgia)
  Charles Calkins: Intellectual Property (North Carolina)
  Steven Gardner: Intellectual Property (North Carolina)
  Lynn E. Fowler: Tax (Georgia)

Seven Kilpatrick Townsend attorneys are ranked nationally in their practice areas:

  Barry Benjamin: Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory
  Brian Corgan: Construction
  Charles Galbraith: Native American Law
  Keith Harper: Native American Law
  Catherine Munson: Native American Law
  Rob Roy Smith: Native American Law
  James Steinberg: Outsourcing

Five Kilpatrick Townsend practice areas are ranked Band 1:

  Construction (Georgia)
  Intellectual Property (Colorado)
  Intellectual Property (Georgia)
  Intellectual Property (North Carolina)
  Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets (USA-Nationwide)

Six Kilpatrick Townsend practice areas are ranked nationally: 

  Construction
  Financial Services Regulation: Financial Institutions M&A
  Intellectual Property
  Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets (1)
  Native American Law
  Retail

Snapshot of the Kilpatrick Townsend practice areas appearing in the state/District of Columbia rankings (does not include national rankings referenced above).

California
Intellectual Property
Life Sciences

Colorado
Intellectual Property (1)

District of Columbia
Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation
Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets

Georgia
Bankruptcy/Restructuring
Construction (1)
Corporate/M&A
Environment
Intellectual Property (1)
Labor & Employment
Litigation: General Commercial
Tax

New York
Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets

North Carolina
Environment
Intellectual Property (1)
Litigation: General Commercial
Real Estate

North Carolina: Raleigh, Greensboro & Surrounds
Corporate/M&A

Texas
*Construction

Washington
Intellectual Property

The following Kilpatrick Townsend attorneys, along with the practice areas in which they are recognized, are named to this year’s Chambers USA.

Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory
Barry Benjamin

Bankruptcy/Restructuring
Alfred Lurey (Senior Statesperson)
Todd Meyers (1)

Construction
Brian Corgan (Star Individual) and (1)
William Dorris
Patrick Gaas
Randall F. Hafer (1)
Lee Mann
Lawrence M. Prosen

Corporate/M&A
W. Benjamin Barkley
W. Stanley Blackburn (Senior Statesperson)
Richard Cicchillo
G. William Joyner III
David Stockton

Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation
Mark D. Wincek

Environment
Stephen R. Berlin
Jeffrey J. Davidson
Alan McConnell (1)
Susan Richardson
Todd Roessler

Financial Services Regulation: Financial Institutions M&A
The practice area is recognized.

Intellectual Property
Miles Alexander (Senior Statesperson)
William H. Brewster (1)
William Bryner
Charles Calkins (1)
Theodore H. Davis Jr.
Thomas D. Franklin
Steven Gardner (1)
Darin J. Gibby (1)
R. Charles Henn Jr.
Wab P. Kadaba
Tina Williams McKeon
David E. Sipiora (1)
Mitchell G. Stockwell
Roger Wylie

Intellectual Property: Trademark, Copyright & Trade Secrets
David Mayberry
Dennis Wilson

Life Sciences
The practice area is recognized.

Labor & Employment
Randall D. Avram
Thomas H. Christopher
Susan W. Pangborn
Diane L. Prucino

Litigation: General Commercial
Susan Cahoon
Richard J. Keshian
Gwendolyn Payton

Native American Law
Charles Galbraith
Keith Harper
Catherine F. Munson
Rob Roy Smith

Outsourcing
James Steinberg

Real Estate
David Fricke
Ford Robertson

Retail
The practice area is recognized.

Tax
Lynn E. Fowler (1)

Rankings assessed key qualities in the legal field, including technical legal ability, professional conduct, client service, commercial awareness/astuteness, diligence, commitment, and other qualities most valued by the client.

-- A Star ranking is given to attorneys with exceptional recommendations in their field. 

-- A Senior Statesperson is an attorney who, by virtue of close links with major clients, remains pivotal to the firm’s success.

-- (1) Denotes a Band 1 ranking

-- * Denotes that practice is represented in the Ranked Individuals section


About Chambers and Partners

Chambers and Partners Publishing, based in London, produces the annual Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business. For the current US directory, thousands of interviews were conducted covering the entire country and were carried out by a team of over 50 full-time researchers over a period of six months. For more information, visit: https://chambers.com/

***

Related People

Barry M. Benjamin

Partner

New York, NY

bbenjamin@kilpatricktownsend.com

Alfred S. Lurey

Senior Counsel

Atlanta, GA

alurey@kilpatricktownsend.com

Todd C. Meyers

Partner

Atlanta, GA

tmeyers@kilpatricktownsend.com

Brian G. Corgan

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bcorgan@kilpatricktownsend.com

William E. Dorris

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bdorris@kilpatricktownsend.com

Patrick E. Gaas

Partner

Houston, TX

pgaas@kilpatricktownsend.com

Randall F. Hafer

Partner

Atlanta, GA

rhafer@kilpatricktownsend.com

R. Lee Mann, III

Partner

Atlanta, GA

lmann@kilpatricktownsend.com

W. Benjamin Barkley

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bbarkley@kilpatricktownsend.com

W. Stanley Blackburn

Senior Counsel

Atlanta, GA

sblackburn@kilpatricktownsend.com

Richard Cicchillo, Jr.

Partner

Atlanta, GA

rcicchillo@kilpatricktownsend.com

G. William Joyner, III

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

wijoyner@kilpatricktownsend.com

David A. Stockton

Partner

Atlanta, GA

dstockton@kilpatricktownsend.com

Mark D. Wincek

Partner

Washington, DC

mwincek@kilpatricktownsend.com

Stephen R. Berlin

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

sberlin@kilpatricktownsend.com

Jeffrey J. Davidson

Counsel

Washington, DC

jdavidson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Alan H. McConnell

Partner

Raleigh, NC

amcconnell@kilpatricktownsend.com

Susan H. Richardson

Counsel

Atlanta, GA

srichardson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Todd S. Roessler

Partner

Raleigh, NC

troessler@kilpatricktownsend.com

Miles J. Alexander

Senior Counsel

Atlanta, GA

malexander@kilpatricktownsend.com

William H. Brewster

Partner

Atlanta, GA

bbrewster@kilpatricktownsend.com

William M. Bryner

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

bbryner@kilpatricktownsend.com

Charles W. Calkins

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

ccalkins@kilpatricktownsend.com

Theodore H. Davis Jr.

Partner

Atlanta, GA

tdavis@kilpatricktownsend.com

Thomas D. Franklin

Partner

Denver, CO

tfranklin@kilpatricktownsend.com

Steven Gardner

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

sgardner@kilpatricktownsend.com

Darin J. Gibby

Partner

Denver, CO

dgibby@kilpatricktownsend.com

Wab Kadaba

Partner

Atlanta, GA

wkadaba@kilpatricktownsend.com

David E. Sipiora

Retired

Denver, CO

dsipiora@kilpatricktownsend.com

Mitchell G. Stockwell

Partner

Atlanta, GA

mstockwell@kilpatricktownsend.com

Roger D. Wylie

Firm Managing Partner

Seattle, WA

rwylie@kilpatricktownsend.com

J. David Mayberry

Partner

New York, NY

dmayberry@kilpatricktownsend.com

Dennis L. Wilson

Partner

Los Angeles, CA

dwilson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Thomas H. Christopher

Senior Counsel

Atlanta, GA

tchristopher@kilpatricktownsend.com

Susan W. Pangborn

Partner

San Francisco, CA

spangborn@kilpatricktownsend.com

Diane L. Prucino

Partner

Atlanta, GA

dprucino@kilpatricktownsend.com

Susan A. Cahoon

Partner

Atlanta, GA

scahoon@kilpatricktownsend.com

Richard J. Keshian

Partner

Winston-Salem, NC

rkeshian@kilpatricktownsend.com

Gwendolyn C. Payton

Partner

Seattle, WA

gpayton@kilpatricktownsend.com

Catherine F. Munson

Partner

Washington, DC

cmunson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Rob Roy Edward Stuart Smith

Partner

Seattle, WA

rrsmith@kilpatricktownsend.com

James Steinberg

Partner

Dallas, TX

jsteinberg@kilpatricktownsend.com

David R. Fricke

Partner

Raleigh, NC

dfricke@kilpatricktownsend.com

B. Ford Robertson

Partner

Raleigh, NC

frobertson@kilpatricktownsend.com

Lynn E. Fowler

Partner

Atlanta, GA

lfowler@kilpatricktownsend.com